From Turkey To The UK, Here Are 12 Quarantine-Free Countries That Malaysians Can Travel To


Siti Aishah Ahmad •  Oct 14, 2021

Starting October 11, Malaysians are allowed to travel domestically and internationally for tourism without a MyTravelPass. However, there are still many countries like Thailand and Finland that impose mandatory quarantine for Malaysian travelers. Isolating for 14 days twice in your home country as well as a foreign one can be burdensome and takes up a lot of time. But here are 12 other countries (+ travel guides!) which you can visit without quarantine requirements upon arriving! ?

After returning back to Malaysia, travelers must take a Covid-19 test and undergo quarantine for 14 days. Please be advised that it is still risky to travel during these times and most countries in this list do advise tourists to purchase health insurance before traveling.

12 Countries Without Mandatory Quarantine Period For Malaysians

1. United Kingdom

Mandatory quarantine period is no longer needed when travelling to the UK as the country is opening its border except for countries in their red list which doesn't include Malaysia! However, you must arrive at one of the 8 airports approved by the government and book a Covid-19 test before arriving.

Do note that currently, the UK does not approve of the Sinovac vaccine so until further notice, you may not travel to any of the countries in the UK if you've received Sinovac. For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in the country, go to their website.

Read this Muslim-friendly guide to London's Camden Lock Market!

2. USA

No quarantine is needed upon arriving in the States but travelers must present your visa and proof of a negative Covid-19 test result taken 3 days before departure. If you've contracted the virus, you need to show that you've recovered within 90 days. Additionally, you must show proof of a direct flight from Malaysia or transit through approved countries only.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in USA, go to their website.

P.S This article might interest you: USA's Most-Instagrammed Museums Are In New York & They Should Be On Your Bucket List (With Halal Food Nearby!)

3. Turkey

Turkey has also opened its borders to travelers including Malaysians! You will not need to go through mandatory quarantine. But, if you show any symptoms of Covid-19, you will be isolated at the airport and if your test result comes out positive, you'll be taken to the hospital immediately. You may return to your country of origin but it is up to the airline and captain whether to allow you on board or not.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Turkey, go to their website.

Here's a travel guide on awesome things to do once you're in Turkey!

4. France

For fully vaccinated adults, you are allowed to enter France with no restrictions except for the vaccination certificate and sworn declaration (you can download it here) that you have zero Covid-19 symptoms and not in physical contact with a confirmed case within 14 days prior to your journey. On the other hand, unvaccinated children below the age of 12 must have proof of a negative Covid-19 test result.

The national TousAntiCovid app (available on iOS and Android) must also be downloaded during your stay in France. For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in France, go to their website.

Here's an article on 9 Things To Do In Paris That Are Absolutely Free!

5. Spain

Malaysians do not need to take a Covid-19 test in order to travel to Spain but they have to show their vaccination certificate and are fully vaccinated for 14 days. All travelers must also show the Health Control Form which can be done via this website. This form must be completed 48 hours before your flight and you will receive a QR code after completing the form. The QR code is the ticket for you access your destination's airport.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Spain, go to their website.

You might wanna visit these stunning places in Spain!

6. Switzerland

Prior to arriving in Switzerland, all tourists must complete a form by the government which can be done on your smartphone or a laptop, 48 hours at the earliest before entry. Once completed, you'll be given a QR code and show this code to authorities during inspection at the airport. If you don't complete the form, you'll be fined. Fully vaccinated tourists are not required to show negative PCR test results or undergo quarantine too but you must show proof of full vaccination to all places which include restaurants, attractions and more.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Switzerland, go to their website.

Savour these yummy Muslim-friendly street food in Switzerland!

7. Malta

Fully vaccinated travelers including Malaysians are not required to quarantine if they've been in the country of origin for 14 days prior to arriving in Malta. Although, it is mandatory to wear masks when at indoor or outdoor places except for children below the age of 3 and the person is medically exempted.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Malta, read here.

8. Maldives

Malaysians must present a negative PCR test result 96 hours prior your departure to Maldives. This test result must be submitted online along with the Traveler Health Declaration form within 24 hours before arrival. Travelers are also advised to download and use the country's contact tracking app, TraceEkee (available on iOS and Android) during their stay. If you are showing any symptoms of the virus, you have to undergo mandatory quarantine.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Maldives, go to their website.

Here's a guide on a cost-saving trip to Maldives

9. Iceland

Travelers regardless of origin are allowed to enter Iceland provided they show proof of full vaccination against the virus and have a negative PCR test result. Visitors who have recovered from COVID-19 and have proof of a positive PCR test taken from 14 to 180 days prior to the departure flight do not have to present a negative test result upon arriving. All vaccines approved by WHO are accepted by the country.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Iceland, go to their website.

This is an important guide if you want to catch the breath-taking Northern Lights in Iceland!

10. UAE

The United Arab Emirates welcomes all travelers from any countries as long as they are fully vaccinated with Covid-19 vaccines approved by WHO and present a negative PCR test result. Travelers also need to take a PCR test again upon arriving at the airport.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in UAE, go to their website.

These are some beautiful places that you should visit for your IG feed in Dubai

11. Andorra

Andorra has opened its borders to all tourists and fully vaccinated people need to take a PCR test 72 hours prior to arrival in the country as well as showing your certificate of vaccination. Wearing masks is mandatory in enclosed public premises such as restaurants, malls, cultural establishments and more. You must also wear a mask if you're in a car with people you don't live it.

However, t is not mandatory to wear masks in public spaces provided that it is not crowded and can maintain a physical distancing of 1.5 meter.

For more information about Covid-19 rules and restrictions in Andorra, go to their

12. Mexico

Mexico is open for travel for all nationalities and visitors do not need to show any documents but CNN reported that most resorts will ask guests to fill up health questionnaires. But, there is travel advice from the USA about Mexico which you can read here.

Rest assured, more countries will be opening up to Malaysians as the situation becomes better ☺️